top of page
  • Writer's pictureGarrison Thomas

When I Predicted the Superstardom of Paul George

While scrolling through the ESPN ScoreCenter app during the 2011-12 NBA season, I came across a young Indiana Pacers wing with two first names who kept showing up as the player of the game. I did some research on Paul George and learned that he grew two inches (from 6’8” to 6’10”) over the summer of 2011. I was immediately intrigued and decided to follow him over the course of the season. Catching the Pacers on television was difficult due to the immense popularity of the Lebron-led Miami Heat, but when I could, my eyes were fixed on George and I loved his game. He was a 6’10” two-guard with a really good handle and could draw fouls and he hit 80% of his free throws!! His jumper needed work, but his stroke was smooth which was promising. He was a mismatch on both ends of the floor. He would bully smaller guards on the defensive end and could hold his own against some of the league’s best wings like Lebron James, Paul Pierce, and Carmelo Anthony. Oh, and Paul George was only 21. Simply put, I saw what was coming.


It wasn’t until February 3rd, 2012, when I decided to go public with my Paul George prediction. He was the player of the game again, this time against the Dallas Mavericks. He had 30 points, 9 rebounds, 5 assists, and 5 steals and no turnovers. He shot 11/19 from the field including 7/11 from three. I had seen enough. I texted my dad and my brother and said that Paul George will be a star in the league. They didn’t necessarily doubt me but they had their reservations. My dad basically just said how there are still so many jumps a player has to make in order to improve to be a top 10-20 player. My brother noted that Indiana’s all-star forward Danny Granger was still the alpha dog on the team. I would hear none of it, however. Paul George would surpass Danny Granger over the next two seasons. George made those leaps that my dad referred to while Danny Granger missed time while battling injuries, unfortunately. All of this culminated in a coming-out party in the 2013 Eastern Conference Finals against the Miami Heat where George went toe-to-toe with Lebron as the series went seven games. While the Heat won the series and eventually the championship, the most memorable moment of the series came when Paul George crossed Lebron, drove down the lane, and threw down a thunderous jam over Chris Andersen.


Since then, Paul George has been on five All-NBA teams, four All-Defensive teams, led the league in steals for a season, and has made six All-star teams. Yeah, I called it.


3 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page